The Secret

I’ve read The Secret by Rhonda Byrne several times.  And I’m about ready to read it still again.  However, I am embarrassed to admit this.  I am an intelligent, educated, and erudite man so this book is “beneath” me.  It is such a light-weight, new-age, self-help book that it is roundly criticized in the professional circles that I function in.  If offers so much to so many desperate people who then lamely cling to its promises of wealth and health even though their circumstances are so limiting.  It is the new age equivalent of the “prosperity gospel” of the right-wing religious fundamentalists.

HOWEVER, I have read it repeatedly and am about to again.  This is because I whole-heartedly believe in one of its central theses—-that our thinking shapes our reality.  Get rid of “stinking thinkin “, and your world can change.  Yes, I do subscribe to that belief though I have so much “stinkiin’ thinkin” that remains.  But, as they often say in the 12-step movement, “Progress, not perfection.”

Proverbs declares, “As a man thinketh, so is he.”   Someone once said, “Our thoughts become us.”  And Mike Dooley declares daily on his web site, “Thoughts are things.  Choose the good ones.”  Byrne quotes Henry Ford in her book, “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way you’re right.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

