The Law of Attraction

I was channel-surfing last night and I happened by Joel Osteen. He always gets my attention as he is so unusual looking. On this particular “drive-by” he was discoursing re the power of the words, “I am.” He developed the point that whatever you complete the sentence, “I am….” with is what you get. He developed this point very well, noting for example that if you say, “I am a louse” then probably you are going to be a louse. If you say,“I am stupid”, then probably you are going to be stupid. Now in the time I was there he did not reference Rhonda Byrne’s book, The Secret, which described this truth as “The Law of Attraction”—whatever you put out there with your words is what you will attract. And this “Law of Attraction” is being popularized by many of our contemporary self-help, New Age, spokespersons.

This “Law” can be described as simplistic but I don’t totally dismiss it. I too believe that it is with our words that we create our world and with obsessive self-talk perpetuate it. And I’m very pleased to see someone in Osteen’s position promulgating a message like this. I just hope it is taught to the kiddies in Sunday School as that is when it needs to be learned.

Osteen’s sermon was a simple self-help spiel and I was impressed with what I heard. I’m pleased to see an evangelical preacher preaching a message of self-empowerment. And he didn’t trot out that “hell fire and damnation” stuff either.

7 thoughts on “The Law of Attraction

  1. Pingback: Ask, Believe, Receive – The Law of Attraction « Linda Long Writes!

  2. Pingback: Think Positively « ilse watson

    1. literary lew Post author

      Thanks for checking my blog out. Glad you liked it. I think the “LOA” is really powerful stuff. I really liked Byrne’s quoting of Henry Ford, “Whether you think you can or think you can’t, either way you’re right.”

      Like

      Reply
  3. Pingback: The way the Law of Attractions Functions | Welcome to HubTank an online Journal forum with readership

  4. Pingback: The way the Law of Attractions Functions | HubTank.com

Leave a Reply

