Spirituality and Paradox

Spirituality is paradoxical. There is no other way to cut it. For example, I live when I die. I’m up when I’m down. I’m most when I’m least. I’m found when I’m lost.

Read how Kabir put it:

I won’t come

I won’t go

I won’t live

I won’t die

I’ll keep uttering

The name

And lose myself

In it

I’m bowl

And I’m platter

I’m man

And I’m woman

I’m grapefruit

And I’m sweet lime

I’m Hindu

And I’m Muslim

I’m fish

And I’m net

I’m fisherman

And I’m time

I’m nothing

Says Kabir

I’m not among the living

Or the dead

— Translated by Arvind Krishna Mehrotra

 

6 thoughts on “Spirituality and Paradox

  1. Sandeep Bhalla

    It is not spirituality which is paradox. It is the language which is in duality. Paradoxes are real. Kabir appears to be making fun of the linguistic problems, all the time. I remember when he said Chalti ko Garhi Kahe, Bane dhoodh ko Khoya……..” Words of a Great Master.

    Like

    Reply
    1. literary lew Post author

      Very good point. I deeply appreciate you pointing that out. You caught me trapped in residual “western thought”! Reality is a flux, including an infinite number of paradoxes as seen by human consciousness that results in our efforts to wrap words around them. But the flux is ultimately real, not the words. Thanks so much. Hope you drop by. I’ll be checking your blog out though I’m sure it will be written in Indian and I will not be able to translate.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

