A Hand Reaching Across the Abyss

I’ve invited some blog-o-sphere friends over this morning to play and you too are welcome! I asked momma last night, “Can I have some new friends over Saturday morning” and she said “Yes, as long as you are nice to them this time.” So, ya’ll come on over and we’ll play in the back yard, making mud pies, playing house, playing church, playing tag, wrestling, and such. AND, this time, I’m gonna try to talk one of you cute little girls into a private moment of, “I’ll show you mine, if you’ll show me yours!” (No, I actually never played that game but kind of wish I had’ve!)

This little reverie is a thought I have already shared with a couple of my readers and reflects what a delight it is to meet kindred spirits from around the world. Discovering you makes me feel connected even more to the world, appreciating the power of words and imagination to reach across the abyss that separates us all. And this power is useful with all relationships, cyber as well as real-time.

And, as I start each day now I often think of it as “another day on the playground.” I start it with my favorite friend (my dear, lovely wife Claire) and the second runners-up for that honor, Ludwig and Elsa, the two most beautiful dachshunds that ever lived. But then I go to work, or go to “Wal-marts”, or visit with friends, and still it is “another day on the playground”, this lovely world that God has given us.

And, according to Shakespeare, with mere thought, we can escape the bounds of space and time and commune with each other. For, “If the dull substance of my flesh were thought, injurious distance” would not separate us! The Bard had in mind something relevant to an Archibald MacLeish observation, “Winds of thought blow magniloquent meanings betwixt me and thee.”

If the dull substance of my flesh were thought,
Injurious distance should not stop my way;
For then despite of space I would be brought,
From limits far remote, where thou dost stay.
No matter then although my foot did stand
Upon the farthest earth removed from thee;
For nimble thought can jump both sea and land
As soon as think the place where he would be.
But ah! thought kills me that I am not thought,
To leap large lengths of miles when thou art gone,
But that, so much of earth and water wrought,
I must attend time’s leisure with my moan,
Receiving nought by elements so slow
But heavy tears, badges of either’s woe.

 

Leave a Reply

