The “Packaging” of Women and Sex

Loving words, and loving to play with them, I’ve always been taken by the turn-of-phrase, “I often turn my objects into women” as opposed to the lamentation of “turning women into objects.” But my focus today is on the objectification of women, an offense of which I am guilty as charged…I admit. For, I was raised in a culture where women were a mere commodity and this is still the case today, though there is much greater awareness of the problem. Fortunately, though still “cursed” with the “male gaze” that objectifies women, I have another dimension in my heart where I can see that women have value other than in gratifying my sexual urges.

Sex, like the rest of life, will never be “done” perfectly. Our sexuality always has a flavor that is determined by the time and place of our birth and upraising and it often takes decades to slough-off the unnecessary and unwholesome dimensions of “sex.” We must always remember that a primary function of sex is “making babies” and to carry out this primary need of the species, the human imagination is left to its own devices, including some that are immature and even “nasty” or brutal.

Sex, like everything else, comes to us as a packaged product. (Yes, even religion and spirituality does!) It takes a while to determine what parts of the package we wish to keep and maintain. And, we must remember, most people on this earth will never have the luxury of distinguishing between the “packaging” of any cultural contrivance and the “thing-in-itself.” I’m fortunate to be living in a culture, in an era where distinctions can be made…if one dares.

I’m in love with Maureen Down, a columnist for the New York Times. Merely look at her picture and you will see why! But it is more than her physical beauty that I enjoy. She is acid-tongued, brilliant, erudite, and adept at cutting to the core on issues in our culture. In today’s NYT, she addresses the aforementioned “packaging” of women through the ages.

Here is the link to Dowd’s column: http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/14/opinion/sunday/dowd-the-tortured-mechanics-of-eroticism.html?ref=opinion&_r=0

And I close with my favorite line from Woody Allen, “Of course sex is dirty…if you do it right!”

 

7 thoughts on “The “Packaging” of Women and Sex

    1. literary lew Post author

      Thanks so much. There is so much to say about sex but it is such a scary subject, so very personal and private…and holy! I hope I find the courage to “hold forth” again on the subject. Thanks again. I really appreciate you dropping by and hope to see you again.

      Like

      Reply
  1. David M. Green

    Reblogged this on Feminism Is Gender Fascism and commented:
    I am not about to walk around in public with downcast eyes just because some immature over sensitive little girl inhabiting an adult female’s body is going to be offended if my sky blue eyes just happen to gaze upon her. You should try growing a pair sometime and get in tune with your masculinity instead of allowing yourself to be neutered like a dog.

    Like

    Reply
    1. literary lew Post author

      Well, your girl friend told me the other night that my “pair” were bigger than yours! Seriously, you didn’t get the point and from looking at your blog you are not likely to. And, I might add, you don’t need to. Your life is your own, you make your own choices, and you will receive the consequences of these choices just as the rest of us do. Thanks for dropping by. Hope to see you again.

      Like

      Reply
  2. David M. Green

    I got your point all right! Its neutered white knights and quislings like yourself who support the feminist agenda that lets them get away with their lies and misandry. The fact is feminism is a hate movement and by supporting it you betray your best interests and those of your fellow men just as conservatives do when they vote republican.

    Like

    Reply
    1. literary lew Post author

      Hey, you don’t vote Republican! We are friends indeed! And, you know what a “quizling” is, so you have a college education and can, therefore, walk upright! Ok, ok. I’ve had a shot of bourbon, I admit. I don’t think we are as far apart as you think. Desire is desire; and, “of course sex is dirty…if you do it right.” But I think it is possible to have sex…with gusto…and still see women as something other than a mere piece of meat. Now, I admit. That is a bit of a challenge given our culture and how it has cultivated and exploited our libido. But, I feel very strongly that whatever your whim is…as long as it is with a consenting adult…go for it. And if that does not fall within the lofty moral and spiritual parameters I hold forth about that is fine. That is totally your business. But please take down your website. I resent that every night I have to go there and look at that disgusting stuff!!! (Just kidding!)

      Like

      Reply
      1. literary lew Post author

        Hey friend, I’m just glad that you are no longer a Southern Baptist. To give you an insight into where my limited perspective came from, I was raised in a splinter group of the Southern Baptist Convention. I was taught that “you guys” were “damn liberals” though we always carefully used the term “dang.” Hope life is treating you well. Hope you come back to my blog from time to time for a “cup a coffee”!

        Like

Leave a Reply

