Back in the “Flow” of Life!!!

This ends my longest hiatus from “literarylew” in the four years I’ve been offering this verbal “deed to oblivion.”  I’ve had technical problems with WP but the real “technical problems” are with the rusty technology of my heart which has spent 63 years hiding my “light under a bushel.”

For over a year now I have been immersed in the works of Carl Jung and have found it stimulating and deeply challenging.  Jung did not live on the surface of things and his writings lead one into a plunge into the subterranean depths of the unconscious, a plunge which is disconcerting to say the least.  On this note, I often think of the title of an Adrienne Rich book of poetry, “Diving into the Wreck” for any descent into the hoary depths of the heart is certainly like “diving into a wreck.”  T. S. Eliot described it as daring to “live in the breakage, in the collapse of what was believed in as most certain and therefore the fittest for renunciation.”

Jung wrote extensively about the Christian faith, my spiritual bailiwick, and his perspective emphasized the power of myth which, if one can lay aside the comfort of biblical literalism that I grew up in, can allow one of explore the rich layers of meaning in the Judeo-Christian tradition.  But this cannot be done without daring to see one’s own life as mythical, to realize that the narrative of our life is fictional in a sort, and that in this narrative there can be found a real “Presence” which is the essence of who we are.  Or, as Stanley Kunitz put it, “I have walked through many lives, some of them my own.  I am not the one I was, though some remnant of being remains from which I struggle not to stray.”

Jung and Kunitz grasped the dynamic nature of life, its eternal flux.  Life is not static, though our ego constantly demands that we cling to a static view and experience of life even if that view and experience is devastating to ourselves and to others.  When we begin to tippy-toe into the “flow” of life (i.e., the “Spirit of God”) we find the experience unnerving.

6 thoughts on “Back in the “Flow” of Life!!!

  1. Sue C.

    Bravo! Welcome back – diving into the depths is strenuous,
    often exhausting, and always rewarding.
    Sister Sue in Fayetteville

    Like

    Reply
  2. Anne-Marie

    Yes, I’m another one pleased that you are back in the ‘flow’ of life. I can identify with everything you are saying. Thank-you very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply
  3. Monte Zerger

    This is such a good post. It proves to me that you need to continue expressing through posts. I particularly liked this: “But this cannot be done without daring to see one’s own life as mythical, to realize that the narrative of our life is fictional in a sort, and that in this narrative there can be found a real “Presence” which is the essence of who we are.”

    After pondering it I wrote these words: To give up our little fictional life for one which fully embraces the mythical dimension is to dwell in the Divine Presence where our authenticity lies.

    I had Juliet “put down” yesterday. It was very hard as you can imagine. I took her to Salazar’s and the female vet (I think all vets there are women), asked me many questions and examined Juliet. Her conclusion was that my assessment and decision was wise. Susan was with me and her support was comforting. I dug a grave and buried her in a very primitive area behind our fenced back yard which I have taken to calling the “back-back” yard.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

