The “God Complex” and Dr. Ben Carson

When a young man, I stumbled across an evangelical self-help book about “the god-complex” and recognized then that it pertained to me.  To summarize, this term refers to someone who responds to deep-seated feelings of being out of control with the over-compensation of trying to control his world, sometimes by defining his world so narrowly that the remaining tiny fiefdom is easily manageable.. And though I am now four decades further in my life’s journey, that complex remains with me in some residual form.  Without it I must fear the primordial chaos which teases all human hearts would be overwhelming.

This term “god complex” is merely a version of what clinical jargon labels “ego structure.”  And all of us have an ego structure without which chaos would ensue and we would be non-functional, or our functional ability would be marred by glaring demonstrations of subtle pathology.  And, if you happen to be religious and cursed with what neurologists might call an hyper-active “god-spot,” the “god complex” will  be present in you for others to see, though the arrogance that this complex affords you will not allow you to see it yourself.  But the resulting “bad faith” is exquisitely delightful!

And that brings me to Dr. Ben Carson, who is currently in 2nd place in the polls for the Republican nomination for President in my country.  And though he is an accomplished neurosurgeon and, I think,  a very nice human being, he has a history of saying things that demonstrate a radical lack of self-reflection.  And his “flaws” could be described more harshly but I’m going to let someone who went to medical school with him do that:

http://www.salon.com/2015/10/21/ben_carsons_dangerous_god_complex_the_commencement_speech_i_wont_soon_forget_partner/

Now as customary, my “tee-hee” muscle wants to get flexed here!  But really, my first response is sadness to see how that such an intelligent and accomplished man can be so hampered by background, cultural influences that he would deign to take some of the stances he has taken.  And though he is responsible for himself, I want to blame his ultra-conservative religion (Seventh Day Adventist) for his radical inability to use this brilliant mind of his to utilize the self-reflective skill that lies dormant in that neo-cortex that he “knows” so much about.  But the real culprit is even deeper for ideology which threatens all religion often tyrannizes many conservative Christians.

3 thoughts on “The “God Complex” and Dr. Ben Carson

  1. Anne-Marie

    My mother was recently sorting out her things and discovered something I had written when I was very young which showed how desperately I was trying to control my out of control world. I still have the same patterns today though there has been a letting go to some extent in some areas of my life more than others. There is also a greater desire to be more free of these patterns. I’m loving reading the psalms more and more because they are a cry for help. “O rescue me, God, my helper, and my tongue will ring out your goodness.” Psalm 51.

    Yesterday, I heard someone talk about the body as helping us be in the present moment and also being the place where our pain is held. It seems we need to learn not so much an outer directed attention, but also an inner directed one, to learn to be aware in the present moment what is happening with us, without judging or analysing ourselves. I guess this is about learning the truth about ourselves and being compassionate towards ourselves. It is wonderful how often the words truth and light are found together, because when the former happens, there seems to a new way of seeing.

    Like

    Reply
    1. 21stcenturyxstian Post author

      I think that “being in the body” best describes the issues I’m dealing with. Ideas have been my escape…and I have a lot of ’em…and some of ’em nice ones…but if they are an escape then they have little value other than providing me a life raft. Thanks for sharing your thoughts, my friend.

      Like

      Reply
  2. sahara desert tours

    I rarely create remarks, but i did some searching and wound up here The God Complex and Dr. Ben Carson | literary lew.
    And I do have a couple of questions for you if you do not mind.
    Is it only me or does it give the impression like some of these comments appear
    like they are written by brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites, I’d like to keep up with everything new you have to post. Would you make a list of the complete urls of all your communal sites like your twitter feed, Facebook page or linkedin profile?

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

