Rebecca Solnit on Trump’s Maddening Solitude

This is the best “sermon” I’ve read yet about Trump and his minions.  Rebecca Solnit spares no punches and delivers a prophetic word, not just about Trump, but about our whole culture.  As they say, “Read it and weep.”  And weeping is in order as this is a very sad moment in our history and could get even sadder at any moment.

My use of words like “sermon” and “prophetic” bely my rage at the church culture of my origins.  Yes, “me doeth protest too much.”  I still think that “truth” can be found in spiritual traditions but very often spiritual traditions ossify and become merely “well-worn words and ready phrases that build walls against the wilderness.”  That leaves it to artists, writers, and even comedians to “speak truth to power” and Ms. Solnit here “knocks it out of the park.”

http://lithub.com/rebecca-solnit-the-loneliness-of-donald-trump/

******************************

Two other blogs of mine are listed here which I invited you to check out:

https://anerrantbaptistpreacher.wordpress.com/

https://literarylew.wordpress.com/

https://theonlytruthinpolitics.wordpress.com/

2 thoughts on “Rebecca Solnit on Trump’s Maddening Solitude

  1. Anne-Marie

    I’m glad you said that this is not just about Trump but about our whole culture because it truly is we are part of it. I’m also glad you can speak your own truth/share truth because we need it. “Send forth your light and your truth, let them guide me; let them bring me to your holy mountain, to the place where you dwell.” (Ps 43: 3). The wonderful thing is that “The light shines on in the dark and the darkness has never mastered it.” (John 1: 5).

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

